Christian Book Award Listings

Christian book awards reflect the myriad of book awards available in the broader literary
community. For some awards, publisher or author nomination is acceptable; for others, retailers nominate; and still others are based on sales figures.

Awards That Are Open to the Public

The awards listed below are the ones with which authors and small presses who wish to further promote their books will have the best success.

• Christian Indie Awards

This award is sponsored by Christian Small Publishers Association. Previously called the Christian Small Publisher Book of the Year Award, this award is designed to both promote small publishers and independently published authors in the Christian marketplace as well as to bring recognition to outstanding books. To accomplish both of these goals, Christian Small Publishers Association has Christian retailers and readers vote on the books of their choice to determine the winners of the award. Awards are granted in 14 categories, including an ebook category.


• Carol Awards

carolThis award is given annually by American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) for Christian fiction works in 11 categories. Awards are given for books that are traditionally published and for ACFW qualified independently published books. Entry rules and forms are available on ACFW’s website.


• CPA Awards

catholicPresented annually by the Catholic Press Association (CPA), these Catholic book awards are given for Catholic books in 23 categories including First Time Author, Children’s, Spirituality, Spanish-Language Book, and Best Book by a Small Publisher.



• Christian Retailing’s Best Awards

crbThis award, sponsored by Christian Retailing, is designed to recognize the most significant, life-changing products in the Christian industry. Nominations are accepted in 60 categories, but include games, toys, and gifts, as well as books. Christian retailers and others who work in the industry vote to determine the winners.



• Christy Awards

christyThe Christy Awards are presented annually to recognize and promote Christian fiction of an exceptional quality and impact. The awards feature nine fiction categories in which awards are presented, including General/Contemporary, Historical, Romance, Suspense/Mystery, Visionary, and First Novel. The entry submission deadline for the Christy Awards is in December for books published during that calendar year.


• Illumination Book Awards

illumThis award is sponsored by the Jenkins Group, Inc. The Illumination Book Awards are designed to “shine a light” on the best new titles written and published with a Christian worldview. Awards are granted in 16 categories including ebooks.



Awards Open to Members Only

These awards may also be of interest to publishers and authors, but they are not open to the general public.


ecpaThese annual awards are given by the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) in eight categories. They are designed to recognize the absolute highest quality in Christian books in the religious publishing community. Nominations can only be made by ECPA member publishers in good standing, who nominate their best books released in the previous calendar year.


Leave a Reply